top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNadya Tahri

I Miss You Amir! 😢



Amir and his sister Amalia


As many of you know, two weeks ago we went to Moscow, Idaho to pay my respects and be with my sister regarding my nephew Amir who passed away about three and a half years ago…


So today I just wanted to spend a little bit of time talking about some of the memories of Amir.


I miss him so much and he was so precious and so sweet, very easy-going, very kind and loving and very patient. If we were going places he wouldn't get fussy.



Starting from top left: My son Elijah, my sister Malika (Amir's mom), my mom (Salima), my dad (Benyounes), me, Scott, my daughter Gabriella (next to Amir), Amir. (My dad is holding my son Isaiah).


He was just an Angel that's what he was but I love Amir’s laugh.


He had the most precious laugh. I know it's hard because so many kids’ giggle or laugh is adorable but I happen to love Amir’s laugh I think more than anything else about him.



Amir's senior picture 2017


I can't even try to make it but he had the best laugh ever and so the thing is that he loved the girls and he would love to hit on the girls so when we would go out to a restaurant he would be eyeing the waitress…


it's almost like he he was wanting to get her number 😂😂😂


and you could just read it all over his face. He was so cute and he had several girls at his high school he was in high school when he passed he was 17 when he passed away and when he was in high school he had at least three girls who were fighting over him and it was just so precious because they all wanted Him to be their boyfriend and it was just it was so sweet…


so when Amir would have a birthday party you know it was interesting to see as they would come and like the one girl didn't want the other girl to get a picture with him I mean it is so precious…



Amir at his 16th birthday party with his girlfriend


So precious!!


But anyways so I I never thought…


I mean, the thought never occurred to me that Amir may pass away you know at such a young age and so it really really caught me off-guard like utter and complete shock!!


I don't know why that thought had never crossed my mind before, but honestly it hadn't…


so when he Did pass away at just 17 years old I just it was like my brain couldn't process that…


you know I couldn't accept the fact that he was gone…



Amir's gravestone



like how could that happen you know?


Utter and complete shock!!


and I couldn't even talk about Amir... I mean, I couldn't even Talk at All for the first 2 weeks after he passed away or else I would burst into tears.

I mean I couldn't see anything I couldn't say “How are you doing?”


I couldn't hold a normal conversation at All!!


It was really really tough and I wondered when I would be able to, you know, talk again like normal and I think it was about two weeks, maybe it was three weeks but it was really tough and even though Amir was not my son, he was my nephew…..



Amir and I



I was still very very close to him.


Personally, I can't even think of a greater pain than that of a parent losing a child.


I mean I haven't gone through that personally but I feel like being so close to Amir that was about as close as it gets.


I mean just because like I said we're a really close-knit family and we did everything together and I miss Amir so, so much but anyway I just wanted to share some of that you know.


You don't ever know whether you have a child with special needs or not, you just don't know how long you have with your kids or your loved ones for that matter and I know it's kind of a serious topic but if you are listening to this…


I would just really like to encourage you to cherish every single minute you get with your kids and with your loved ones and I know it's easy to get busy and even to take them for granted at times.






I know before Amir passed away….


Well, my kids have always been my world but I definitely took for granted that they would always be around you know and so when Amir passed away that really shifted things in my world and now I feel like and ever since he passed away I feel like I Really really cherish the moments I get with my kids, both my older ones who do not have special needs as well as my younger two that do have special needs.


I mean it just really changed the way I view things and I just would like to encourage you to remember that tomorrow is never promised and again not to be depressing. I just really would like to encourage you to really cherish the time you have with your loved ones and realize that tomorrow is never guaranteed.


So that's my little take away for today.


As always, ….I would love to hear from you!




~ If you are a parent of a child with special needs, I would Love to have you join my private FB group. It is a safe environment, strictly for parents who have a child with special needs, where you can get encouragement and support from other parents who can relate to what you are going through. The name of my private FB group is called “Special Needs Parenting SOS.” ~ 😇💕



1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page