top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNadya Tahri

Before you jump into your plans for the new year.....

Updated: Dec 27, 2021



"For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." - Jeremiah 29:11


Before you jump into your plans for the new year......I'd like to suggest that you stop for a minute and consider what God might have planned for you.


In todays blog post, I want to share about how we should consider asking what God has planned for us and seeking His will, instead of just jumping straight into whatever we think we want.


I never used to be the type of person to **always** set a new years resolution. Sometimes I would, but not always.


In fact, on the times that I use to set a new years resolution, I would usually end up only keeping it for a month or two.


Then something stressful would happen in my life and I would fall on the old excuse of "Now is just not a good time." Or, "I will focus on this goal again later when things aren't so hectic" or "when my child isn't in the hospital" or "when we are done with this trip."


If you think about it, it's amazing just how many excuses I have come up with for giving up on my new goals.


Which ultimately led me to the idea of not even setting a new years resolution.


I mean, why even set a new goal if I know I am not going to be able to keep it?


Right?


Although I now think that setting goals every year is really important..and not just once a year, but every 3 months. I love setting goals and working towards them now. It is Such a rewarding feeling to work hard on a goal and then once you achieve it...if feels soo Awesome!! 🥳💃


Nevertheless, today I would like to suggest something a little different than the traditional new years resolution.


What if, before we sit down to think about the areas in our life that we would like to improve on, what if we first closed our eyes and asked God to speak to us.


Asked for Him to reveal to us what He has in store for us.





It can be so easy to get so busy and caught up in our own ideas, our own goals and dreams and forget to even take it to God first.


I know I am guilty of that.


Today, I will stop and take the time to ask God what He has in store for me and ask Him to help reveal His plans for me so that I can be doing His will for my life instead of just focusing on what I want.


The fact of the matter is, I want to help parents who have a child with special needs. I know that is a good thing and I am very excited about it. 😁👍 But I also know that only God can see the bigger picture.


He can see what I can't.


I know that I need to trust Him and remember to take the time to ask Him to speak to me and reveal where exactly He would like me to go and do next.


If you are reading this and you are thinking, "Well, I don't even believe in God, so this doesn't really apply to me."


I would like to suggest you just try for a minute, believing that there IS actually a God and that He loves you.





Close your eyes and ask God to reveal to you what He would have you do.


Then, go about your day, your week, your month.


See if any new opportunity or situation arrises that you would not have seen happening.


I believe that God speaks to us sometimes through other people and sometimes through certain things happening.


Not everything in life is a coincidence.





If you are just willing to give God a chance to speak to you and show you what direction He would have you go, I think you would be pleasantly surprised that He will open up doors you would have not thought possible.


I've seen it happen not only in my life, but in the lives of several of my friends and family.


God truly is amazing!


So that is my request of you.


If you do already believe in God, then it should be easy peasy for you to take a couple minutes and pray to Him, asking Him to reveal where He would have you go next....what He has in store for you.


I'd love to hear if you do this. Please put in the comments below or shoot send me an email at NadyaLifeCoach@gmail.com


As a quick recap, I'd like to suggest that before you sit down to map out your new years resolution for this year, that you first take a couple minutes and ask God what He would have you do.


Ask Him to make it crystal clear what He would have you do next.


"Ask, and it shall be given you: seek, and ye shall find: knock, and it shall be opened unto you. For every one that asketh receiveth: and he that seeketh findeth and to him that knocketh, it shall be opened." - Matthew 7:7-8


I believe that if we ask Him, he will tell us. (Not audibly) but either through someone or something.


Just be sure and keep your eyes and ears open to what He may be trying to tell you. 😊







~ If you are a parent of a special needs child, I would Love to have you in my private FB group. It is a safe environment, strictly for parents with special needs kids, where you can get the encouragement and support from other parents who can relate to what you are going through. The name of my private FB group is “Special Needs Parenting SOS.” ~ 😇💕


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page