top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNadya Tahri

The Best G-Tube Food for your special needs child

Updated: Jan 30, 2021

"The food you eat can be either the safest and most powerful form of medicine or the slowest form of poison." -Ann Wigmore


In this blog post I will be covering what I believe to be hands down, the absolute best and healthiest food you can give to your special needs child who is primarily G-Tube fed.


Oh what I would do to go back in time and have taken the time to do research as to the best G-tube food to give my special needs child.


I totally assumed that insurance would not pay for a toxic food to be given to a special needs child who's only source of food intake was through a G-tube.


Boy was I wrong!


The first 3 years of my son Isaiah's life was a constant struggle with him being constipated on a regular basis and throwing up daily before, during and after being tube fed.


Whenever we went anywhere with my son we knew it was just a matter of time before he would throw up and we always needed to be prepared with a change of clothes and a towel.


It was so very sad to see him struggle and yet I didn't know what to do. I didn't know how to fix it.


I brought up the issue of him being constipated and throwing up to his pediatrician as well as to most every other doctor or nurse he ever saw, and yet NO ONE brought up what kind of foods he was eating as a potential cause.


Looking back, it seems rather obvious that I should have considered the food Isaiah was being given, that it could have been the main reason why he was so constipated and why he was throwing up every day....but at the time, it just didn't occur to me.


All the doctors I took Isaiah too suggested we give him Miralax to help soften his stools so it would be easier for him to poop. I was told that giving miralax to your child on a daily basis was not harmful to them.


Turns out, that is not true. It IS harmful to give your child miralax every single day.


It's not just that it isn't good to give your child miralax every single day, it's that it all could have been avoided so easily by simply switching the food Isaiah was being given.


Giving him healthy, organic, whole food instead of giving him a formula with traces of processed food in it.


Big difference!


It wasn't until I saw a post on Facebook from another mom who's son has the same syndrome as my son Isaiah, called Allan Herndon Dudley Syndrome.


In her Facebook post she talked about how she found this G-Tube food called "Nourish" and how it helped her son gain weight and improved his health in many ways. She even included a before and after photo of her son prior to being fed "Nourish" and a photo of him after being fed Nourish for a year.


I was amazed at the difference! He looked SO much better after being fed Nourish for a year.


So, I asked Isaiah's primary doctor if she had ever heard of it and if she could prescribe it for Isaiah.


She said she had heard of it and thought it was a good food to give him.


I still am not sure why she didn't suggest it earlier.


Had I not suggested it to her, I don't know if she would have ever mentioned it.


So I really want to encourage all of you to ask your childs doctor if they will prescribe Nourish.


Insurance pays for Nourish in the United States, if your child is G-Tube fed and or if they are unable to eat by mouth.


Below is a photo of what the G-Tube food called "Nourish" looks like as well as the ingredients of it.






"Every time you eat or drink, you are either feeding disease or fighting it." -Heather Morgan



Just to clarify, the G-Tube food that I used to feed Isaiah for the first 3 years of his life was called "Nestle, Compleat Pediatric". This is the food that was causing him to be constipated and throw up daily.


I should have known that a company like Nestle is most likely NOT going to create a healthy food to consume.


To the right is a photo of what NOT to give your child.

I would Highly recommend that you watch the YouTube video titled "Comparing Real Food Blends, Nourish and Compleat Pediatric." I have included the link below so you can watch this YouTube video. It is a very informative and educational video about the 2 best G-Tube foods you can give your child as well as why you want to avoid the Nestle feeding tube food at all cost.


Click this link to see that YouTube video.


Soon after we started feeding Isaiah the Nourish feeding tube food, we noticed that he no longer struggled with constipation. He started going poop every single day.


In addition, Isaiah also stopped throwing up every day.


WOW!!


After 3 years of Isaiah struggling with constipation and throwing up daily, it all stopped once we switched his food to Nourish.


Nourish is just like it sounds. It is a healthy, organic, whole food meal replacement. It is also:


-Gluten Free


-Dairy Free


-Soy Free


-Corn Free


-Non GMO


-No added sugar


-With BPA Free Packaging


So impressive!! 😊👍


I am in no way connected to the Nourish Formula. I am not an affiliate and do not receive any compensation if you choose to use them for your childs G-Tube feedings.


It is from the bottom of my heart that I am sharing about Nourish with you in hopes of helping other parents with special needs kids to help you be aware that you do have other healthy feeding tube food choices to give your special needs child.


I believe that if you do decided to give your child Nourish as the primary food, that it will have major health benefits for your child. I know it did for my boy.


Another healthy feeding tube food choice you can give your child is called "Real Food Blends". It is also wonderful. It isn't organic but it is Whole Foods and it is another great choice if for any reason you can't get Nourish or don't want to use Nourish.


"Today, more than 95% of all chronic disease is caused by food choice, toxic food ingredients, nutritional deficiencies and lack of physical exercise." -Mike Adams


So in summary, in my opinion, the absolute best and healthiest food you can give your child who is G-Tube fed is called "Nourish". The second best food option is called "Real Food Blends".


I would love to hear in the comments below what has your special needs child been eating and has your child struggled with any constipation or throwing up frequently?



~ If you are a parent of a special needs child, I would Love to have you in my private FB group. It is a safe environment, strictly for parents with special needs kids, where you can get the encouragement and support from other parents who can relate to what you are going through. The name of my private FB group is “Special Needs Parenting SOS.” ~ 😇💕





















3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page