top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNadya Tahri

Why I don't watch the news.

Updated: Jan 30, 2021



"Remember, your mind is your greatest asset, so be careful what you put into it." -Robert T. Kiyosaki


The way I see it is....our minds are an incredible gift from God.


We should cherish and hold dear the things we allow into our minds.


I believe that we need to be extremely careful with the things that we watch, listen to and think about.


In this blog post, I would like to share some of my reasoning as to why I don't ever watch the news. I hope you find it helpful and give it some good thought.


"Be very careful about what you think. Your thoughts run your life." -Proverbs 4:23


It can be so easy to get caught up in watching something on TV or a movie or listening to some song or podcast. But instead of thinking nothing of it, I would like to encourage you to hit pause the next time you find yourself relaxing and watching something on TV or listening to some music.


Pause it and ask yourself...."How is this serving me?"


"Is it helping me become a better person?"


"Is this mindless material just to distract me from something else?"


"Can I learn something from what I am watching or listening to?"


"Will watching this or listening to this help me be a better parent, spouse or friend?"


It's true. I don't ever watch the news. If it's important enough, someone is bound to tell me about it.


I don't like wasting the precious time that God has given me on this earth by watching or listening to the media giving me false statistics about things and trying to cause fear or anger about something.


I mean for real, don't you find it rather interesting that the evening news tends to start off with something like....."Good evening, 15 dead and 17 wounded in a........."


Why would we want to wind down after a full day at work or with the kids to watch or listen to such depressing stuff?





Can't they at least consider starting the first 5 minutes of news with a heart warming story of some kind? You know that people are doing kind things for others every day, but how often do any of those kind acts ever get any media attention?


Very rarely.


Such a shame.


I am not in any way suggesting that we should burry our heads in the sand and pretend that nothing bad is happening in the world. Not at all.


I do however think that we should be very careful with what sources we get our information from. Instead of mindlessly believing whatever we see or hear, we should do a little bit of research to make sure we are getting the full story. Making sure that all the facts add up.





It is so common to only hear a partial truth to a story. Every story has two sides. I am only suggesting that we be a bit slower to believe everything we hear and try to consider it from another perspective.


Growing up I had this idea that everyone told the truth and that judges, lawyers, doctors and police were there to serve and protect us.


And in many cases they do.


But unfortunately many do not.


We all need to be aware that there is a lot of corruption in this world, but we don't need to be stuck in a state of fear or panic about it.


We can NOT control other people, but we CAN control ourselves.


So with that in mind, I feel like we should all strive to be the absolute best people we can possibly be.


I also believe that one of the first and best steps to becoming the best person we can possibly be is to start with becoming extra careful about the content we fill our minds with.


If the things you are watching or listening to don't help you become a better person or help educate you in some way, might I suggest we simply pass on consuming it?


The reality is life is short. We never know how much time we are going to have.


I believe we should all value the time we have here and not take it for granted.


As a little experiment, I would like to encourage you to take a 30 day break from watching the news or any other content that doesn't help you become a better person and instead, use that time to spend quality time with your kids or read a book that will either help you

or help you to help someone else.


Ask yourself "How is this content serving me? Is it helping me become a better person?"


If you are struggling to come up with a quality answer, then don't consume it.


If after 30 days, you still want to go back to your old ways, then by all means, have at it.


But at least give it a try. A full 30 days.


I can almost guarantee that if you are really careful to only fill your mind with great content for 30 days in a row, you will most likely find that you don't even really miss the news anymore.


You will realize that there are SOO many other things, people, activities or books that you would rather spend your precious time with. 😊


Philippians 4:8 says "Finally brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy-meditate on these things."


I would love to hear from you.


Let me know in the comments below, are you up for the no news 30 day challenge?



~ If you are a parent of a special needs child, I would Love to have you in my private FB group. It is a safe environment, strictly for parents with special needs kids, where you can get the encouragement and support from other parents who can relate to what you are going through. The name of my private FB group is “Special Needs Parenting SOS.” ~ 😇💕




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page